Restaurant Week at Frederick’s Downtown

Frederick’s Downtown put on rather poor Restaurant Week display last night. The service was distracted: we got three of four desserts at once, waited 15 mins. for the 4th, and the ice cream on one of the first three was half-melted. The food was mediocre: the champignon soup was too salty, my salmon was overcooked and absolutely smothered in olive tapenade leaving no room to taste the salmon, the short ribs were drowned in a beef broth and cream that made them sit in your stomach like a stack of bricks, and I did not like the choice of chocolate ice cream on a warm chocolate cake. It was chocolate overload; why not contrast it with raspberry or whip cream or at least vanilla ice cream? Now, maybe my party erred by ordering from the prix fixe Restaurant Week menu. Surely, we should know that we were choosing from the food that they would prepare in bulk with less care than that put into their a la carte choices. This idea tempts you to blame the conditions of Restaurant Week. Indeed, this was in the back of my mind, but you would think that an establishment should utilize Restaurant Week to showcase their best stuff to a wider audience that they could hope to draw back during a non-discounted period. Frederick’s did nothing but drive me away, and I can assure you I will not return. In fact, I’m going to go out of my way to discourage everyone I know from going there.

~ by jaredran on January 31, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
